Trim Healthy Mama and Dieting on the Go

I still haven’t officially committed to the Trim Healthy Mama diet. I’m just doing it as much as possible while researching and figuring out a menu that is easy and affordable for me.

Here is my breakfast this morning.

20131115-101834.jpg

So, organization and planning ahead are not my strong points.

However!!!!!

Thinking on my toes, is!

We are gone all day, one day, every week. Well, it happens to be payday, which means groceries were running low at home. Especially convenience foods, making it hard to pack snacks for my day out.

Dilemma 1: I need either low fat, or low carb protein about every 3 hrs.

Dilemma 2: there is a Starbucks right around the corner from where we will be spending our day. The Starbucks’ ‘Iced Double Shot’ is my favorite drink, and a huge weakness!

Fortunately, there is a health food store nearby, as well! I stopped by there this morning and grabbed a few things for the kids to eat, and a couple of ‘on plan’ things for myself.

The hot dogs are a frequent ‘go to’ for me as they are both low fat and low carb.

A new find was the almond milk singles!! I grabbed a couple of those, and a bottle of vanilla stevia and I had a great idea!! Maybe I could just order a few shots at Starbucks and put together my home home version of the ‘double shot’!

It turns out, an espresso shot is $1.88 at our local Starbucks. Well to get enough shots for a Grande, which has 3 or 4, depending on who’s working that day, can be more than $5!

It was cheaper to just order the Doubleshot, for about $3, without any syrup or breve. So that’s what I did, along with an extra grande cup of ice. And, it was so strong that I was able to divide it up for a total of 3 THM friendly ‘double shots’!

So, for my on the go, Trim Healthy Mama, ‘Double shot’….

20131115-120240.jpg

Fill the empty ice cup up 1/2 way with Starbucks Double Shot.
Add 1 full dropper of vanilla stevia.
Top off with vanilla unsweetened almond milk.

Voila!! A Skinny Doubleshot!!

20131115-124436.jpg

Tip: if you don’t like stevia, I highly recommend giving vanilla stevia a try. It is very sweet without the stevia after taste.

Leave a comment